Sun, 03 Jul 2022

8 more ministers sworn into Sri Lanka's new cabinet

23 May 2022, 19:18 GMT+10

COLOMBO, May 23 (Xinhua) -- Eight more cabinet ministers were sworn in before Sri Lankan President Gotabaya Rajapaksa on Monday as a new government is being formed amid weeks of political instability and economic crisis.

According to the President's Media Division, the eight ministers took oaths at the President's House in Colombo and later assumed duties in their respective ministries.

Douglas Devananda was sworn in as the minister of fisheries, Keheliya Rambukwella as the minister of water supply, Mahinda Amaraweera as the minister of agriculture, wildlife and forest conservation and Ramesh Pathirana as the industries minister.

Thirteen cabinet ministers had been appointed on two previous occasions following the appointment of Ranil Wickremesinghe as the prime minister on May 12.

Sri Lanka has seen weeks of public protests due to a shortage in essential supplies including food and medicines.

More Sri Lanka News

Access More

Sign up for Sri Lankan News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!