Thu, 09 Dec 2021

Sri Lanka opt to bowl, leave out Dhananjaya de Silva

19 Oct 2021, 00:44 GMT+10

Toss Sri Lanka chose to bowl vs Namibia

Sri Lanka won the toss and chose to field first in their T20 World Cup opener, against Namibia. Captain Dasun Shanaka said it was the likelihood of dew forming later in the evening in Abu Dhabi that prompted his decision. Namibia captain Gerhard Erasmus said his team was happy to bat first.

Namibia also made two changes to the side that won their most recent T20I, against Papua New Guinea. Batter Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton comes into the side, replacing Ben Shikongo. And left-arm seamer Ruben Trumpelmann is in the XI, at the expense of Michael van Lingen.

Sri Lanka's XI, meanwhile, held few surprises save the omission of Dhananjaya de Silva. Instead of fielding six batters in addition to their three allrounders (Dasun Shanaka, Chamika Karunaratne, and Wanindu Hasaranga), Sri Lanka have brought in the pace of Lahiru Kumara to bolster their bowling. Allsorts spinner Maheesh Theekshana is in the XI ahead of Akila Dananjaya.

Kusal Perera, Pathum Nissanka and Dinesh Chandimal make up the top three.

Sri Lanka: 1 Kusal Perera (wk), 2 Pathum Nissanka, 3 Dinesh Chandimal, 4 Avishka Fernando, 5 Bhanuka Rajapaksa, 6 Dasun Shanaka (capt), 7 Chamika Karunaratne, 8 Wanindu Hasaranga, 9 Dushmantha Chameera, 10 Maheesh Theekshana, 11 Lahiru Kumara

Namibia: 1 Stephan Baard, 2 Zane Green (wk), 3 Craig Williams, 4 Gerhard Erasmus (capt), 5 David Wiese, 6 JJ Smit, 7 Pikky Ya France, 8 Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton, 9 Jan Frylinck, 10 Ruben Trumpelmann, 11 Bernard Scholtz

NamibiaSri LankaNamibia vs Sri LankaICC Men's T20 World Cup

Andrew Fidel Fernando is ESPNcricinfo's Sri Lanka correspondent. @afidelf

More Sri Lanka News

Access More

Sign up for Sri Lankan News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!