Sun, 13 Jun 2021

SLC lines up August window for LPL's second season

13 May 2021, 04:43 GMT+10

Sri Lanka Cricket have announced that the second season of the Lanka Premier League (LPL) will be played from July 30 to August 22, with further details about the franchise tournament yet to be confirmed.

The window falls immediately after Sri Lanka's home series against India, which comprises three ODIs and three T20Is, finishing on July 27. It also means that the LPL will clash with the Hundred, the ECB's new 100-ball competition, which starts on July 21, but will be finished before the start of the Caribbean Premier League on August 28.

Professor Arjuna de Silva, the chairman of SLC's management committee, said: "We have found a suitable window to hold this year's edition, whilst we are currently working on finalising the other details of the tournament."

The inaugural season of the tournament was played between November 26 and December 16 in a bio-secure bubble, with all 23 fixtures staged in Hambantota. Jaffna Stallions were the champions, beating Galle Gladiators in the final.

SLC said in a statement that it would "assess the country's situation and discuss with the Ministry of Health closer to the tournament to ascertain the health situation in the country prior to taking a final decision on the competition."

TuskersKingsViikingGladiatorsStallionsSri Lanka

More Sri Lanka News

Access More

Sign up for Sri Lankan News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!